ATLAS Experiment CERN

Physicists have developed a theory called the Standard Model that explains what the world is and what holds it together.

It is a theory that explains all the hundreds of particles and complex interactions with only:

  • 6 Quarks
  • 6 Leptons (such as the electron)
  • Force carrier particles (like the photon)

All the known matter particles are leptons or composites made of quarks, and the interact by exchanging force carrier particles.

A primary goal of ATLAS is to look for discoveries that the Standard Model cannot explain.


Chart of the Standard Model
(click for a larger image)

The Unknown Dark Matter Mass Extra Dimensions Antimatter New Forces Standard Model